Re: McCoy or MacGregor? (Definately not Caidin)

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Aragorn from val-pm1-018.inetnebr.com on February 23, 1999 at 20:15:37:

In Reply to: McCoy or MacGregor? (Definately not Caidin) posted by Indiana James (Lambert) on February 23, 1999 at 15:40:38:

: I have been an avid Indiana Jones Fan and now I'm just getting into the books after a bad "Sky Pirates" stint 5 years ago. I was turned off by the Caidin novel but now under advice from some the IndyFan Forum members (especially Aragon) I have picked up 6 Indy novels. These titles include: "Secret of the Sphinx", "Philosopher's Stone", "Hollow Earth", "Dinosaur Eggs", "Interior World", and 'Peril at Delphi'. I finished McCoy's 'Philosopher's Stone" and I am now reading MacGregor's 'Peril at Delphi'. I like both Author's novelizations of Indy but here is the question:

: Which author is better: McCoy or MacGregor?

Glad to be of help, and glad that you got started (really started) into the novels. You pose a VERY tough question... because truthfully I really liked them both. All four of McCoy's were terrific, in my opinion, worthy each one of being read several times over.

The six of MacGregor's, though, are just a little bit more uneven, when you look at them all together. Some I liked a LOT more than others. I thought his "Dance of the Giants" and "Interior World" were outstanding... among my all-time favorites. After those two, "Seven Veils", "Genesis Deluge" and "Unicorn's Legacy" were all very good as well, though I didn't enjoy them quite as much. And as for his very first attempt to write an Indy novel, "Peril at Delphi", I didn't really care for that one at all.