Just got my Infernal Machine today...

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Goodsport from adsl-216-102-199-185.dsl.snfc21.pacbell.net on November 15, 1999 at 23:07:39:

... I installed it, cranked the options all the way up (3D Sound, Triple Buffer, Microsoft Sidewinder Joystick, etc.), and let 'er rip! It looks and sounds good, although it seems that they may have gotten a different voice-actress to play Sophia Hapgood, although I could be wrong on this (they definitely got Doug Lee to reprise his Indy from Fate of Atlantis, though)! :)

I only had time to play the first level and a little bit of the second (and probably won't have a lot of time to play the game until later in the week), but it's fun. And a pretty chilling story backdrop (the beginning of the Cold War)... I obviously wasn't alive during that time, but I studied enough about it in school to know what scary time that was (the beginnings of the Arms Race, the later incident of Gary David Powers and the U-2 Spy Plane Scandal, etc.). The games intro and the beginning levels handle that period well.

LucasArts also did its homework with the Soviets. It would have very easy to do what most video game companies (as well as movie-makers, TV producers, etc.) did way back when, when dealing with fighting the Soviets (pretty popular genre in the 1980's)... just write some Cyrillic-like squiggles on the Soviets' vehicles and such and pass that off as Russian writing, as well as having the Soviet soldiers speaking in unintelligible mumbling, passing that off as them speaking Russian. After all, most Americans couldn't tell the difference, right?