Re: Hat fight--not West's fault.

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Fedora from ppp-195.col.cableone.net on August 12, 2000 at 12:04:53:

In Reply to: Re: Hat fight--not West's fault. posted by Cueball on August 12, 2000 at 07:19:14:

: Mr. West, you are indeed a wise young person. All along I have said everyone must make their own decision and "make yourself happy". In most of my postings I clarified that I'm no hat expert and that I was just relating my experience. I was only trying to help others avoid some potential disappointment. But if money is an issue, I can assure you, having purchased both HJ and PB (and intending to keep them both) that the PB is a GREAT hat, identical to the original (at least to my eye), very good looking, and terrificly priced. Good luck with your choice.

: Cueball
: : Well to respond to Greg, thanks for the advice and I'll make sure to do what's best for me. I actually wanted to get a hat which was a good Indy hat but also one that could stand the test of time and was also quality workmanship. From Cueball's experience and that of some others HJ may be coasting on their name like Abner said. This being my first Indy hat and one I'll treasure for a while I want a good one for my money (being a student I am surprised I have any).
: : Joe Peters was very friendly over the phone and so was Mr. Swayles. (Though Mr Swayles seemed to have an attitude like "it's just a hat" when I talked to him but a very pleasant man to talk to nonetheless. While Mr Peters seemed to be like "it's an art." Just my opinion though from talking to both and asking their views of hats.) I have been looking around for quite some time (longer than I've been posting here) and though "bullet proof" may be it's name it was a customer who named it and from what I've seen here it lives up to its name. As Joe Jr says "I let my customers do my talking." He is a pleasant man and I would be glad for him to make my hat.