Re: Archaeology schools

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Michaelson from em12-686.utsi.edu on August 25, 1998 at 10:08:09:

In Reply to: Re: Archaeology posted by Indy Magnoli on August 25, 1998 at 08:10:01:

: : I was just wondering if any of you have a career in archaeology (or any other career in the history sphere). I've always had a love for history and archaeology in particular and was wondering if someone in the field could tell me if its a good career choice and if so, what kinds of careers can I expect? If you think it'd be better to email me rather than post, thats no problem.

: I have worked in archaeology for about four years. I graduated from the University of New Mexico with honors (my honors thesis was nothing other than Atlantis!). I visited many sites around the world, but worked primarily in Central America, namely Belize. Last summer I worked at Baking Pot which is a Maya pyramid complex just now being worked on.

: As far as a career, archaeology has changed a great deal since the 1960s with a movement called "New Archaeology" started, in part, by Lewis Binford. The movement pushed archaeology, primarily in the Americas, away from historical analysis and into quantitative analysis. Field work has remained very similar to the old ways, but since this is only a small part of archaeology, the science as a whole is very different.