Why the 1 5/8?.

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Fedora from ppp-14.col.cableone.net on December 12, 2000 at 17:56:02:

In Reply to: Re: And... posted by Greg on December 11, 2000 at 23:44:50:

: OK, Fedora, I'm picking up what you're putting down about the hats, but I'm confused about the 1 5/8 inch ribbon...Why would you want that? Actually, the ribbon is something we know pretty clearly. I spent months researching the ribbon after Richard Swales told me about the 80 year old ribbon they used and that it had run out. He confirmed that it was 1 1/2 inch (39mm) dark brown "Petersham" ribbon. I then spent hours calling over 50 hatters here in the states and several over seas searching for someone who knew what "Petersham" ribbon is. It is a form of grosgrain ribbon, apparently, and some of it has an unbound edge similar to a sawtooth ribbon, and some of it has a bound edge. This confused me for a while because I studied hundreds of stills from the three films as well as the Young Indy Chronicles as well as pics of the Smithsonian donated LC hat and there actually appeared to be two kinds of ribbons being used throughout the three films and series. However, some scenes in Raiders AND LC both appear with the bound edged ribbon-identical to the ribbon that Mr. Swales had reproduced in Spain, and now ships on the Indy hat. I have two lengths of it he sent me and I have to say that upon comparing it with photos shared with me by a friend taken in DC at the Smithsonian, the ribbon is identical and thus ended my months long quest, but not before learning more than I ever wanted to know about hat ribbons. Incidentally, aside from Mr. Swales, I only found three hatters that even knew what Petersham ribbon was: Catherine Delaney in the U.K., who sells a very nice lookalike for the HJ ribbon, James Locke hatters (around the corner in London from HJ, who only had black Petersham but were kind enough to send me some), and Hyman Hendler Ribbonerie in New York Ci