Ahh, refreshing! Thanks Bennett. (NM)

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by DeWayne from 208-25-52-168.stk.inreach.net on April 03, 2001 at 19:54:01:

In Reply to: Caution from an archaeologist about piecing together history posted by Bennett on April 03, 2001 at 17:29:21:

: In response to the series of exchanges from Peter Botwright, Mr. Wax, Patterson, etc.

: I would caution about trying to piece together the history of the jacket from the prototype, etc.

: I am an archaeologist, and work everyday trying to piece together history from fragments of material culture. I know the limitations and the pitfalls.

: I am no expert in these jackets, so please take my comments with that in mind. Also, I am not trying to suggest who is right and wrong, only to suggest that we make lack the information to make that determination.

: I would urge caution in using any single example as evidence of this or that. The prototype jacket, for instance, or the commercial Westeds available, may not provide good information about who designed the jacket, whether or not the original patterns are used, etc.

: This is because:
: 1) there isn't enough information out there -- a couple of prototypes, with incomplete histories, must be used with caution. We don't know all of the variations, modifications, etc.

: 2) everybody knows a number of jackets were produced, with variations that can be seen in the movies, even within a single movie. This clouds the whole issue.