Re: wested goat skin

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Peter Botwright from spider-mtc-te013.proxy.aol.com on June 16, 2001 at 19:33:55:

In Reply to: Re: wested goat skin posted by Patterson on June 16, 2001 at 15:02:13:

What generally the average person does not understand is the difference between veg tanned and chrome tanned. Basicly the veg tanned is that the skins are dyed with open pores. The chroming agent seals the skin to stop water dirt and any other element absorbing into it. The bad part is that the chroming or sealing makes the skin harder and less pliable. In goat skins this is a big problem because the high fat content only stiffens the skins when chromed. Therein is the problem with goatskins. I Have been making leather garments for other 30 years and am a consultant in the UK. My knowledgw of the leather trade is legendary and complete. I am willing to answer all queries about leather and reply to so called experts who know little about leather or garment construction other than what they have seen on film or television.
Cheers
Peter

: : Who was it who got a goat skin wested?

: : I spoke to peter while he was making it. He seemed to not really like the hide and felt that it was a very stiff. Is this usual with goat skin before it breaks in? I was thinking that I might get myself one as peter said he could easily arrange it. SOoooo, what do you guys generally think of goat skin? Is it as light as lamb? I know that it is more durable but what is the difference between chrome and veg (what do chrome and veg stand for?).

: : Patterson.... I believe that this is your field. Any commments would be much appreciated.