THE JACKET AND THE ONGOING DEBATE, MY TWO CENTS(long post)

[ Reply ] [ The Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by SWilliam from proxy2-clt.ratedg.com on July 29, 2001 at 19:31:33:

I've had my Raiders Wested Lambskin jacket for about a year and 5 months now and I've been totally happy with it. I've been "away" from the forum for about a year now (if you go way back in the archives you'll find me there), and didn't realize what has unfolded in the past 1/2 to full year when it comes to the jacket. I saw the whole ordeal about the "expedition jacket" and got skeptical... how could someone put down Peter's jacket, especially the three most trusted authorities on the jacket, Lee Kepler, Michaelson, and Patterson. I studied the subject myself by looking over photos and watching the movies, pausing almost every jacket scene in the trilogy (actually it is very difficult to see the details that have been argued about but they are there). As a perfectionist I could not believe I missed some of the details that were wrong on the jacket, all of which have been in front of my face all along.

The back panel: I saw this one as soon as I got my jacket (there is about an 1/8 of an inch gap on each side), but understood why the back panel did not go the who length of the Yoke (top portion of rear jacket). I've got pictures of myself standing beside the jacket in the Smithsonian, and saw that Fords jacket was a little smaller in size, and logically Peter had to cut some cost somewhere, its different to make 30 jackets for one movie instead of thousands for the fans. Those extra few inches add up in hide costs. If I'd been maybe the same size as Ford or smaller the back panel would have gone the whole length of the Yoke (for those of you who think you are the same size or smaller, you can get back to me on that one).