Specifically....

[ Reply ] [ Indyfan Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Michaelson from eeespace106.utsi.edu (150.182.24.106) on Tuesday, October 09, 2001 at 5:10pm :

In Reply to: Well... posted by Brett Maverick Lambert from aig65386y28se.ab.hsia.telus.net (142.59.128.139) on Tuesday, October 09, 2001 at 2:28pm :

...pistols and revolvers. The real skewing took place in the early 90's, and I have to say it was a real work of art. I used to be a technical illustrator in my youth, and had to prepare charts for the company to show the union just "how bad things were for the company" when contract negotiations took place. It's fascinating how that works. Real black magic. (grins) The Ministry of Justice asked that all law enforcement of Canada report all crimes where a firearm was present, regardless of long gun, short gun, shot gun, what ever. The law enforcment community took her at her word, and whether it was at the scene of a murder, or the report of a missing cat, the officer at the scene wandered around the home, and if any weapon was spotted, regardless of if it was locked in a gun cabinent, etc, it was written down as "firearm at crime scene". Needless to say, the stats on firearm "crime" that was turned in was astronomical. The law of registration and firearm "turn in" became law of the land. Suddenly a revision was submitted, separating the "missing cat" weapon reports from the actual violent crime reports, and needless to say, the stats dropped tremendously. This drop in numbers was claimed by the anti gun supporters as proof of the success of the new law, as gun crime had dramatically dropped, and numbers now proved it! Like I said, just an absolutely beautiful end run by the statisticians. That kind of mind game has been attempted here several times. The best I remember was one that was attempted that said that any weapon that could fire multiple rounds with the pulling of a trigger should be classified as an assalt weapon, and banned. Fortunately, a Senator qu